The Mohs Hardness Scale Tool

Mohs Hardness Scale Tool

How to Use the Tool

  1. Select a Mineral: Use the dropdown menu to choose a mineral and discover its hardness.
  2. Feeling Lucky: Click the “Feeling Lucky” button to randomly select a mineral and see its hardness value.

Mohs Hardness Scale Table

HardnessMineralCommon Usage
1TalcBaby powder, electrical insulation
2GypsumPlaster of Paris, drywall
3CalciteLimestone, cement
4FluoriteFluoride in toothpaste, flux in smelting
5ApatiteFertilizer, biological hard tissues
6OrthoclaseGlass and ceramic industries
7QuartzWatches, glass, silica sand for concrete
8TopazGemstones, abrasive
9CorundumAbrasives, sapphire and ruby gemstones
10DiamondCutting tools, abrasives, jewelry

Welcome to Our Mohs Hardness Scale Tool

Explore the fascinating world of minerals and their hardness! Our interactive Mohs Hardness Scale tool allows you to quickly determine the hardness of various minerals. Whether you’re a student, educator, or enthusiast, this tool is designed to provide a straightforward way to explore mineral properties.

Our tool is based on the Mohs Hardness Scale, which is a comparative gauge of the ability of minerals to scratch one another and is used by geologists and other scientists to identify minerals in the field.

Understanding the Mohs Hardness Scale

The Mohs Hardness Scale was created in 1812 by German geologist and mineralogist Friedrich Mohs and is a qualitative ordinal scale that characterizes the scratch resistance of various minerals through the ability of a harder material to scratch a softer material. It ranges from 1 (softest) to 10 (hardest).

With our tool, you can easily verify the hardness of a mineral by selecting it from the dropdown menu or using our “Feeling Lucky” feature for a random selection. This educational tool is especially useful for students and professionals in geology, providing quick access to essential data about mineral properties.

We hope you find this tool valuable for your studies or personal interest in minerals. For any suggestions or additional information, please contact us at

Image Credit: Hazel Gibson –

2 thoughts on “The Mohs Hardness Scale Tool

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *